There seems to be a lot more interest in people wanting to train/show their Corgis in agility--and I couldn't be happier! I learned about agility from my dad and my grandmother, who competed in some of the first agility competitions. I started training Dally in agility less than a year ago when I finally found a place that could train me first, and now we've competed in two trials (CPE and AKC) and are close to finishing our Novice Standard title already.

Why did you choose agility??

Views: 34

Replies to This Discussion

We are really looking forward to starting agility. She is only 5 months old and enrolled in puppy classs now but we are starting to work on it at home.

When we first saw Molly, we knew she would be an agility dog. She has such good energy and wants to please use. We figured agility would be a way to work on socialization, training, as well as burning off some of her energy and giving me a work out. I am really looking forward to the bond this will help us create as well.

I can't wait to really start.
So, how has your preliminary training gone so far? I'd definitely take it easy with Molly, especially if you're having her jump because her joints and bones aren't full developed yet. But, that doesn't mean you can't get her used to walking around a board for a "dog walk" and working on the table (learning sitting and downing, then staying for 5 seconds).

I do believe agility has helped strengthen an already strong bond between Dally and myself--we've been through a lot together already and moved across the country a few times in her short life--but agility makes her hone her intelligence and energy, which is a great thing!
Bernie and I train at the dog school I work at. We're hoping to go to our third trial January of next year and hopefully get our first Q. :) We're trialing in CPE and NADAC. I'm going to wait a bit before we do any AKC trialing until we get our feet wet.