I posted this on the Senior Group, but realized it would been seen by more people here. I am new here and thought I could get some feed back. Our corgi, "Cobi" has been epileptic for years and we have for the most part been able to control it with meds. Just a couple of emergencies where the seizures wouldn't stop without a visit to the ER. Now the Vet thinks he may have Lupus but won't know for sure without biopsy of nose. We don't really want to put him through that since he is 11 yrs old. So far we are treating it with steroids and was wondering if anyone here has any experience with this disorder? Thanks for listening.

Views: 57

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Gail, sorry I have no experience with Lupus in dogs. Best of luck to you and hope you can find an answer.
That is good to hear that the lupus didn't actually shorten the life of your dog, maybe this will be just a chronic thing for Cobi. The biopsy is to determine that it is definitely lupus. There are actually two types, one which primarily affects the nose, mouth, eyes etc., the most common, and the other that affects their whole system, joints etc. The Vet did take a slide and pressed it against his nose then looked at that under a microscope, she said it did show some evidence that would suggest lupus. There are also other meds to treat this with but the Vet doesn't like to put them on it unless she knows for sure with the biopsy. Drugs are also harsh so she doesn't know if Cobi would tolerate it because of his epilepsy meds and he is also on thyroid meds. So far he seems to be responding to the topical steriods, which we only use when it flares up.
No real experience with this, but I sure would like to understand the part about the biopsy of the nose. It sounds strange to me.