Hey, stranger... (How to meet, greet... and treat other people?)

I have a problem here. Charlie gets overly excited when he sees other people on the street when we walk. He starts running and jumping towards them, he wags his tail, and he is more excited than when he sees us!

I try to sit him when he sees people, or call him with "come" command, and it helps a little, but temporarily.

So, what should I do so that he would not be so excited seeing other people? :)

Views: 38

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Aww, but you shouldn't avoid people all together. This is how dogs get socialized and learn! You could completely avoid people and teach Charlie to walk by your side beautifully, but how is that going to work in the real world? How is Charlie going to react when he sees another dog or another person? Probably the same way. :-/

I've been walking Theo twice a day for 5 months and this has by far been the hardest thing to train him on. Just try to be patient and enforce the rules that you set out for Charlie. He's not going to be perfect for a looooooong time, but if you never teach him how you want him to act, he's never going to act the way you want him to. Anyway, it could be important for safety reasons too. What if Charlie got off leash, saw someone across the street, and ran to greet them when a car was coming?

Don't worry, Charlie will eventually chill out a bit. If seeing new dogs becomes a common occurrence, then he should be a bit more calm about it after awhile. :)
Thanks, Ju Lo, for your thoughtful post! You are right - I need more patience, I guess :) and make more effort teaching him.