What's the minimum age for starting agility training?

My Corgi will be 9 months old in May and I was wondering if anyone knows how old they're supposed to be before starting agility training? (Not competition, just training.) The trainer I have in mind said that she can start training now, but I thought I'd see when others have started.

Views: 736

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I'm no expert, but I read that they shouldn't start jumping until they are at LEAST a year old. Their joints are still developing and can be damaged. However, that doesn't mean that you can't start training for agility. There are certain commands that will be necessary such as come, sit, stay (all the basics) plus things like out, over, etc. I would get a list of the basic control commands and start with them first. Also, you can probably train for things that don't require jumping such as tunnels.
Charlie and I want to do agility too, and I've been advised not to do any of the jumps or high (off the ground) exercises until 18-24 months. You can however work now on lots of other fun agility stuff.

The thing every agility dog has to have is a really solid off-leash recall. Charlie and I could probalby spend the next year on nothing but that! LOL

Anyway, you can work all you want on tunnels and weave poles (and anything else that doesn't require jumps, or that he might jump off by accident). I'm planning to build a wobble board for Charlie to work on to get used to the feel "teetering" without the height of a real teeter-totter. The wobble board can also be used as a Wait Table, just lower to the ground at first. You can also just take a 12" wide board that's 8 feet or longer and train the puppy to walk across it (without walking off) on the ground, that can later be raised higher when he's older